Saturday, October 8, 2011

CFP: The Fourth British Patristics Conference (Exeter University)

CFP: The Fourth British Patristics Conference (Exeter University) Please note the following conference and call for papers, which may be of interest to colleagues. (Sent on behalf of Dr Morwenna Ludlow). The Fourth British Patristics Conference will be held at Exeter University (St. Luke's Campus) 5th - 7th September, 2012. Conference website: The aim of the conference is to foster the study of early Christianity broadly considered in its social, historical and theological context and to cultivate a community of scholars of the subject in Britain. We particularly welcome participation by and applications for papers from current graduate students studying at British Universities. We are delighted to announce that two plenary speakers have already been confirmed: * Sebastian Brock, formerly Reader in Syriac Studies, Faculty of Oriental Studies, University of Oxford * Alastair Logan, Honorary Research Fellow, Department of Theology and Religion, University of Exeter. The conference will begin after lunch on Wednesday 5th September and will close after lunch on Friday 7th September. Call for papers:- The call for papers is now open. Please submit your proposal for a short paper (15-20 minutes long) to Morwenna Ludlow by 31st January 2012: * preferably by email: (please do not reply to the address from which this email was sent) * or by post: Dr. Morwenna Ludlow, Department of Theology and Religion, University of Exeter, Amory Building, Rennes Drive, Exeter, Devon. EX4 4RJ. The conference committee will select proposals and inform all applicants in mid-February. Attendance is not formally restricted to those studying or working in the British Isles, although the committee will take the above aim of the conference into account when selecting papers from submitted proposals. Please send queries about conference papers and proposals to Morwenna Ludlow at We look forward to receiving your proposal and to welcoming you to Exeter, With best wishes on behalf of the Conference committee, Morwenna Ludlow Conference committee:- Morwenna Ludlow Siam Bhayro David Horrell Alastair Logan Stephen Mitchell

No comments: